Universitatea Britanica

Cursuri universitare Marea Britanie in limba engleza ACUM in Romania


Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L4DC)

Equivalent to Year 1 of a three year UK honours degree

The NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L4DC) makes up the first year of the NCC Education degree journey. The qualification is equivalent to the first year of an IT degree qualification in the UK university system.


You will be given the opportunity to develop essential thinking and study skills, not only within the computing domain but also within the context of business through a balance of academic and vocational subjects. The qualification will allow you to understand and enter the computing profession with the necessary knowledge expected within the industry and the ability to apply the skills to a range of IT-related functions.

On successful completion of the qualification you will be able to progress to NCC Education’s Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L5DC), which is equivalent to the second year of a UK bachelor’s degree, transfer to a university or pursue a career in the IT industry.

Entry Requirements

Entry requirements for the NCC Education L4DC qualification:

• NCC Education International Foundation Year (IFY) or Level 3 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L3DC) qualification.


• An international qualification which is deemed to be of a similar level to the NCC Education IFY or L3DC qualification. This must be agreed with NCC Education in advance.


• Mature students need to demonstrate over two years’ relevant work experience and also hold O’levels/GCSE English and Maths or equivalent.


• At least one A-Level or equivalent or an appropriate School Leaver’s Certificate.


If you are a potential candidate whose first language is not English, you will need to obtain a valid score of 5.5 or above in the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) examination or equivalent.

Alternatively, take the free NCC Education Higher English Placement Test, which is administered by NCC Education centres.

Qualification Structure

You must study the following eight core units:

• Skills for Computing – provides the essential skills for a computing candidate (including study, presentation, report-writing and data handling skills). This not only prepares you for successful outcomes in your studies, but also provide you with skills that can be applied in the


• Computer Networks – networking and communication skills are vitally important in today’s connected world. In this unit you will develop a good understanding of basic theory and also develop useful practical skills.


• Computer Systems – supports the development of practical skills in the configuration, maintenance, fault-finding and trouble shooting of modern computer systems and develops knowledge of computer architecture.


• Designing and Developing a Website – develops practical skills in website design by providing a detailed understanding of markup languages, style sheets, design techniques and testing.


• Databases – provides thorough training in practical techniques for the design and development of database systems and also develops a sound understanding of the underpinning theory.


• Designing and Developing Object-Oriented Computer Programs – provides a thorough introduction to computer programming using Java.


• Software Development Techniques – addresses the wider issues of software development together with a language-independent survey of useful data structures and algorithms.


• Office Solutions Development – develops practical skills in the automation of common office applications to support a variety of tasks.

Assessments and Examinations

Assessments for all units are offered in a number of assessment cycles throughout the year. All units are assessed by both examination and
coursework assignments.

Award Conditions

The NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L4DC) will be awarded when you have successfully passed all eight units. A unit is passed when an overall mark of 40% or more is achieved. You can resit units if you need to but this must be done within three years of your first
assessment in the qualification.


The qualification is designed to be delivered over one academic year for full-time study but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time learning.

Delivery Method

You will receive face-to-face teaching, including lectures and group discussions in seminars and tutorials, and will be guided through private study tasks by your NCC Education centre.


NCC Education is regulated by Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator) to award the Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L4DC) in England.


The official name on the certificate will be Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF).


The qualification allows candidates entry to the NCC Education Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L5DC) (which is equivalent to year 2 of a typical UK honours degree), the second year of many UK university programmes, or enables candidates to pursue a career in the computing industry. For more information please visit www.nccedu.com

Learning Outcomes

On successful completion of NCC Education Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF) (L4DC) you will be able to demonstrate a clear understanding of
computing systems. You will also be competent in the development, testing and maintenance of software and database systems, which will allow you to implement effective strategies for research and lifelong learning.

Cursuri limba engleza
Acest site foloseste cookies. Prin navigarea pe acest site, va exprimati acordul asupra folosirii cookie-urilor. Detalii aici DE ACORD